Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
World News Archive (2011)
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (49) posts »

2012 Deutsche Börse Photography Prize Shortlist Announced

Posted By Administration, Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Updated: Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Awarding the most significant contributors to photography in the past year

The Photographer's Gallery has announced this years short list for the Deutsche Börse Photography Prize. This year's awarded photographers include Pieter Hugo, Rinko Kawauchi, John Stezaker and Christopher Williams. Work by the four awarded artists to be on exhibition in summer 2012.

The variety of this year's artists is notable. Hugo's shots from Permanent Error are noble and agonizing portraits of scavengers in toxic technology dumps. Kawauchi has been recognized for her recent publication Illuminance which presents fantastic possibilities that elevate the every day. Stezaker's 40-plus year exploration into our relationship to the photographic image plays with juxtaposition, appropriation, and collage. Williams's work is conceptual, turning photography and the photograph onits head with shots of cameras, models, and technical equipment we are encouraged to wonder at the significance of visual content itself.

For more on the artists, prize, and exhibition please visit The Photographers' Gallery

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Thank you for taking the time to participate in the survey below.

Membership Management Software  ::  Legal